Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Washington State Elections offers multiple ways to register. Before you register to vote, view voter eligibility and dates and deadlines.
Washington State is a vote-by-mail state. State law requires us to deliver ballots to the post office at least 18 days before Election Day. If you haven’t received your ballot, please call our Elections team at (509) 888-6402.
You can also get a ballot in-person at the Auditor’s Office beginning 20 days before an election. You can find information about our location and hours to prepare for your visit.
Yes. If you’re an early voter, you should feel confident to return your ballot by mail. Postal carriers are reliable, unbiased professionals who handle ballots with the upmost integrity. Your ballot is treated as 1st Class mail. It’s postage-paid. No need to apply a stamp.If you plan to vote in the final week before Nov. 3, we recommend that you use a ballot drop box. Find the closest Ballot Drop Box here.
You may receive an updated ballot because your residential address or name changed after the initial ballot mailing. Sometimes this happens when you interact with the Department of Licensing for drivers’ licensing services or if you have moved to a new address.If you receive two ballots, please open both packets. One should have an insert indicating that it is “Replacement/Reissued Ballot.” Please vote and return the replacement ballot. It has the correct races and precinct information for your new address.If you make a mistake and vote the initial ballot, the elections office will simply hold it and ensure that you don’t submit the replacement. If the replacement isn’t received, your initial ballot will be counted.
Visit Douglas County Elections new Interactive Web Map to find your voting precinct, boundary information about different election districts, locations of ballot drop-off boxes, plus more.
If you need help searching, call Amanda Taub, Geographic Information System (GIS) Analyst, at 509-884-7173, or email Amanda Taub.
Absolutely! If you feel the assessment of your property taxes is incorrect or have questions about the your valuation contact the Assessor’s Office first anytime you have a question. Many times disagreements or stipulations can be agreed upon or settled with the Assessor’s Office without filing an appeal. However, you still need to preserve your appeal rights by filing your appeal form in a timely fashion with the Board of Equalization; view the Appealing Assessed Valuations FAQ to access appeal forms.
The Douglas County Assessor’s office may be reached at 509-745-8521 and additional information may be obtained by visiting the Assessor page.
Washington State law requires assessors to value all taxable property at 100% of its true and fair market value. Market value is the amount of money that a willing and unobligated buyer is willing to pay a willing and unobligated seller.
To appeal an Assessor’s valuation of your property timely complete and file a petition with the Douglas County Clerk of the Board of Equalization.
The correct Appeals Petition Form must be used; a letter or phone call is not acceptable as a substitute for the petition form. You must submit separate petitions for each parcel that you want the Board to review.
Two copies of the Petition and any attached documentation are filed:
Appeal forms are available by downloaded from the following links:
Send Completed Forms to: Email the Clerk of the Board (PREFERRED)
Mail to:Clerk of the BoardBoard of Equalization140 19th StreetEast Wenatchee, WA 98802
Petitions for Appeal must be postmarked or emailed to the Clerk of the Board of Equalization by July 1st of the current assessment year or within 30 days of when the "Douglas County Change of Value Notice" was mailed by the Assessor’s Office.
Access the Board of Equalization’s contact information page to find the mailing and email (preferred) address for the Clerk of the Board.
If you feel your petition is rejected as incomplete by the Douglas County Board of Equalization, you have the right to appeal the rejection to the Washington State Board of Tax Appeals. If you disagree with the determination set by the BOE Hearing Examiner, you may appeal that decision to the BTA within thirty (30) days.
Washington State Board of Tax Appeals1110 Capitol Way SSuite 307P.O. Box 40915Olympia, WA 98504Email the State Board of Tax AppealsWashington State Board of Tax Appeals Website
Prior to 1981, minor traffic or motor vehicle offenses were crimes. The Legislature has decriminalized many traffic, parks, wildlife, and fisheries offenses. These offenses are now called infractions and are civil cases
Start by reading the entire backside of your notice of infraction (ticket). If you follow the instructions, you can’t go wrong!
A person has three options when he/she receives an infraction:
In Douglas County there’s also the option to use the Infraction Hearing Online form in lieu of appearing in person, for Contested and Mitigation Hearings.
A mitigation hearing is where you admit you committed the violation but wish to explain the circumstances of the infraction. To request a mitigation hearing, you should check box two. The Judge, depending on the explanation and your record, may adjust the penalty. However, the Judge will not dismiss your ticket. As the Court is required to forward all committed traffic tickets to the Department of Licensing, it will appear on your driving record.
If you believe you did not commit the violation, then you should select box three and have a contested hearing. As a result of a contested hearing, the penalty may stay the same, be reduced, or the ticket dismissed. In the event that you have subpoenaed witnesses, you may be required to pay court costs. A contested infraction hearing is a civil case and the Judge will decide upon a preponderance of the evidence.
Law enforcement investigates crimes. The Prosecuting Attorney files charges after law enforcement investigations are completed and the investigative reports have been referred to the Prosecuting Attorney’s office for a charging decision. The Prosecuting Attorney does not investigate crimes. If wish to report a crime and it is an emergency, then call 911. If it is not an emergency, contact your local law enforcement agency - your city police department or sheriff’s office.
The Prosecuting Attorney’s office does not cancel restraining orders. You will need to contact the Court that issued the restraining order to request that the order be cancelled. A motion and a declaration must be filed explaining the reasons why you want the order cancelled. If your request is granted, the Court may condition cancellation of the restraining order on attendance of anger management classes, marital counseling or other requirements. The Court’s primary concern will be the safety of the protected person and preventing further domestic violence.
Washington law requires that the county be notified of a claim prior to a lawsuit being commenced against the county. RCW 4.96.020 claims that the county has sixty days after a claim is submitted to accept or reject the claim. The decision to accept or reject a claim is made by the Douglas County Board of County Commissioners. If the Board of County Commissioners takes no action, then the claim is deemed rejected.
Douglas County has designated the Prosecuting Attorney as the official to initially receive all claims directed to the county. Claims are forwarded to the Board of County Commissioners for review.
When submitting a claim, it is important to provide as much information as possible, including copies of all repair bills or estimates, medical bills, photographs, and any other documents supporting your claim. The Prosecuting Attorney has developed a Notice of Claim form (PDF) which may be used to submit your claim.
A subpoena is a court document requiring you to be present at the time, place and date stated. Failure to appear will make it impossible for the Prosecuting Attorney’s office to effectively prosecute the case and could result in the Judge finding you in contempt of court. You will be paid the witness fee and mileage set by law. You cannot be reimbursed for lost wages. Your employer must honor the subpoena and allow you to attend court.
Information provided by victims and witnesses aids in the identification and arrest of suspects. Your testimony is important for successful prosecution. Please keep the Victim-Witness Coordinator advised of your current mailing address and telephone contact numbers.
Before the trial, you will have a chance to discuss the case and your testimony with the Deputy Prosecutor handling the trial. You may also be contacted by the defense attorney or an investigator working for the defense attorney. The defense attorney and the defense investigator have the right to contact and interview witnesses. You have the right to request that a Deputy Prosecutor and/or a victim advocate attend the defense interview.
If you have questions, please call the office at 745-8535 to speak with the Victim-Witness Coordinator or the Deputy Prosecutor who signed the subpoena.
Possession of a firearm is prohibited under Washington law upon conviction of a felony, certain gross misdemeanors, and under other circumstances. You may restore your right to possess a firearm if you meet certain eligibility criteria and obtain an Order from the Superior Court.
The successful restoration of your right to possess a firearm will not expunge any criminal convictions from your record.
The following information does not cover restoration of the right to possess a firearm resulting from your involuntary commitment for mental health treatment. In such circumstances, you must comply with RCW 9.41.047 and to restore your right. Douglas County forms for a Petition, a Note for Motion/Hearing and an Order/Certificate are links at this website. These forms are available for your use and have been approved by the Prosecuting Attorney and the Superior Court. These forms may not be applicable to your circumstances. Also, the law may have changed since these forms were drafted. You are encouraged to consult a lawyer before using these forms or if you have any questions about these forms or the process for restoring your firearm rights.
The County Sheriff handles sex offender registration. If you reside in Douglas County, then go to the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office located at 110 2nd Street NE in East Wenatchee to register.
If your period of suspension has expired and you are eligible for reinstatement, you need to contact the Department of Licensing. You will be required to show proof of insurance and that you have paid all traffic tickets or made payment arrangements for such tickets as part of the reinstatement process.
If you are a juvenile and your license was suspended because of an offense such as Minor in Possession or possession of illegal drugs, you will need to file a Petition for Early Reinstatement with the Juvenile Court. If the Court approves your request, you will then need to present the Order issued by the Court to the Department of Licensing with your application for reinstatement.
The telephone number for the Department of Licensing Customer Service is 360-902-3900. The Department of Licensing website has a great deal of helpful information.
Sex offenders in Washington State are sentenced to more time and serve more time than almost any other state. They must serve a minimum of 80% of their prison sentence. They then serve the remainder of their sentence in the community, this is called community supervision. As part of community supervision, they report to a community corrections officer.
They also have specific conditions placed on them while under supervision. Conditions may include no contact with the victim(s) or witnesses, no contact with minors, not to be at any school or playground or other places where children congregate, no use of alcohol or drugs, attend Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, maintain sex offender treatment. Conditions may even include geographic boundaries to further protect former victims.
The sheriff’s office cannot place any restrictions on where an offender lives in any community. As a part of the offender’s release, they submit a release plan that is reviewed by the department of corrections prior to the offender’s release. The plan may be declined if the offender’s residence would be considered a risk to the community based on the offender’s victim range. While you may not be happy about an offender living in your area it is important to realize that at least you are aware of this offender. The best defense you can have is being educated on how to protect yourself and your family members from being victimized by anyone.
The sheriff’s office lacks any authority in forcing an offender to move from one location to another. The sheriff’s office is granted the authority to give community notification about specific offenders considered a moderate or high risk to the community. The sheriff’s office also verifies that all sex offenders are living where they are registered. We actively seek out those offenders who fail to register or fail to make proper notification of an address change.
Studies indicate that approximately 5% of treated sex offenders re-offend in a sexual way. Approximately 7% of untreated sex offenders re-offend in a sexual way. Approximately 8% re-offend in a non-sexual, non-violent way. Approximately 3% re-offend in a non-sexual violent way. Approximately 77% have no new offenses at all.
We will not be contacting the public if this offender moves to another location. Offenders move on a regular basis and it would present difficulties in providing this information. You should take appropriate actions to be safe and remain educated about sex offenders to protect you from all offenders, whether you know where they live or not.
Don’t tell them the scary details about the crimes. Keep information general, as it may protect them from others who would harm them. The goal is that your child is educated about being safe from everyone including strangers, acquaintances, or family members who would victimize them.
Whether or not a sex offender lives in your neighborhood you should educate yourself and your family on safety concerns. This is a time to reinforce family safety planning and specific concerns about strangers and this offender.
All offenders are only bound by conditions of supervision while they are on active supervision by the department of corrections, juvenile rehabilitation administration (parole), or their probation officer. After completing active supervision the offender’s only requirement may be that of continuing to register as a sex offender as required by law.
Information regarding Level 2 and Level 3 Sex Offenders living in Douglas County is available on this website. Information regarding Level 2 and Level 3 Sex Offenders living outside Douglas County is available at the Washington Association of Sheriff’s and Police Chief’s Sex Offender Information website. Additional information regarding Level 1 Offenders living in Douglas County is available at the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office in East Wenatchee. There may be restrictions on the information available to you based primarily on where the offender lives in relation to your home. You can request additional information by contacting our records staff or Detective Sergeant Steve Groseclose at 509-884-0941 during normal business hours.
If the situation is an emergency, you should report by calling our emergency dispatch center 911. If the situation is not an emergency you can report by calling 509-884-1535 or 800-452-1732.
Per the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 10.14, an Anti-Harassment Order may be obtained by persons who are seriously alarmed, annoyed, or harassed by conduct which serves no legitimate or lawful purpose. The person does not need to have a relationship with the person harassing them.
Prohibit harassment and contact of any kind. Restrain party from coming within a specific distance from petitioner’s residence, workplace, school, etc.
Can be obtained in District Court. Person files a petition which involves filling out paperwork. After reviewing your petition, the court may grant or deny a temporary emergency order effective up to 14 days. The other party is served with the petition, notice of hearing and temporary order. A hearing is held within 14 days at which time the court may deny or grant an order effective for up to one year.
Note: if the respondent is a minor, then the petition needs to be filed in Superior Court.
The filing fee is $41 in District Court and $110 in Superior Court, but may be waived.
The violator may be arrested. Possible criminal or contempt charges.
Requirements for application are:
You may renew your concealed pistol license at the Sheriff’s Office in East Wenatchee, during the hours of 9 am to 4 pm weekdays, excluding holidays or by appointment at the Bridgeport office. To make an appointment call Douglas County Sheriff’s Office at 509-884-0941. If you live inside the city limits of East Wenatchee you must apply for a concealed pistol license at your local police department.
If your license has been lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement license. Apply in person at the Sheriff’s Office in East Wenatchee, during the hours of 9 am to 4 pm weekdays, excluding holidays or by appointment at the Bridgeport office. To make an appointment call Douglas County Sheriff’s Office at 509-884-0941.
The fee for a replacement license is $10.
If your application is approved, your new Concealed Pistol License (CPL) will be ready to be picked up in approximately two weeks. Renewal CPLs are also ready to pick up within two weeks.
Although there are some states that will honor a Washington Concealed Pistol License, you will need to check with the local jurisdiction within each state you intend to travel in with your firearm as to what is allowed and what their restrictions are.
Certain restrictions apply, even when you are in possession of your Concealed Pistol License. For more information you may access Washington State laws regarding firearms.
Payment via debit/credit card is available online through our nCourt Payment Portal. A small convenience fee is charged for this online service.
Per the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 10.99, a No Contact Order may be obtained by a person who has reported an incident to the police. Criminal charges must be pending or filed. May be a condition of sentencing.
Prohibit contact of any kind while criminal case is active and can be a condition of sentencing. Protects a victim while waiting for trial.
A crime must first be reported to the police. If the abuser has been arrested or issued a citation, the victim may ask the prosecutor to request a No Contact Order, and arresting officers can get No Contact Orders done immediately.
There is no cost.
The violator shall be arrested.
Per the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 26.50, this civil order can be obtained by any person who is a victim of domestic violence or fears violence by a "family or household member" (persons who are married, divorced, or have a child in common, adult persons who are related or who reside(d) together and persons 16 years and older who are/been dating).
Prohibit contact of any kind. Remove abuser from shared residence and prohibit from entering. Give temporary custody of children and set visitation schedule. Can be tailored to individual needs.
This type of order can be obtained in Superior Court Clerk’s Office. The judge will review the paperwork and grant or deny a temporary emergency order effective for up to 14 days. The other party is served with the petition, notice of hearing and temporary order. A hearing is scheduled within 2 weeks at which time the judge may deny or grant an order which could be entered as permanent.
To obtain forms or learn more, visit the Clerk of Superior Court page.
There is no cost to the petitioner.
Mandatory arrest if the abuser violates "restraint" provisions or enters a residence where prohibited from entering. Possible criminal or contempt charges.
Per the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 26.09, 26.26A and 26.26B, this civil order can be obtained by married persons or persons with a child in common who are filing for divorce, separation, custody or paternity. To qualify a person doesn’t need to be assaulted or threatened previously.
A Restraining Order can do all that a Protection Order does, and may also order child support, order maintenance income, assign property to either party, and establish permanent custody or use of family home.
A Restraining Order can be obtained in Superior Court as part of a Family Law Action such as divorce, separation, custody or paternity. A Temporary Restraining Order can be filed at the filing of the civil petition and signed by the judge effective until heard in court. Many persons obtain attorneys to represent them through this process. The prosecutor or attorney general, when involved in paternity actions, may request a restraining order on behalf of the child.
The filing fee is $110, but may be waived.
Any individual, business, partnership, or corporation (with a couple of exceptions) may bring a small claims suit for recovery of money only. In general, the claim must be filed in the county of the defendant’s residence. Exceptions and specific rules can be found at RCW 3.66.040. The state of Washington may not be sued in Small Claims Court. Attorneys and paralegals are excluded from appearing or participating with the plaintiff or defendant in a small claims suit unless the judge grants permission.
You must pay the court clerk a filing fee at the time the suit is filed. Douglas County District Court’s filing fee is $50. You may have some additional fees payable to the sheriff or process server to have the Notice of Small Claims served on the defendant. As an alternative, you may serve notice on the defendant by registered or certified, return receipt mailing. If you win your case, you are entitled to recover your costs of filing and service fees.
First, you will prepare a Notice of Small Claim form that is provided by the clerk. You are required to sign the Notice in the presence of the clerk unless otherwise instructed by the court. On the Notice form a hearing date, trial date, or response date will be entered by the clerk. It is the plaintiff’s responsibility to accurately identify the defendant, provide a proper address, and, if possible, provide a phone.
The utilities’ rate structure is based upon the amount of impervious surface area within each parcel or equivalent service units (ESU). A service charge of $45 per ESU, per year shall be levied against each developed parcel within the service area. The following are examples of how ESUs are calculated and applied within the service area:
You can continue to wash your car at home. Wash your car on the grass or a gravel area so the water can filter into the ground. Pour your soapy water out in an area where it can filter into the ground instead of down the storm drain. Do not discharge car wash water into the stormwater system including ditches and gutters.
An illicit discharge is anything that goes into a storm drain that is not 100% stormwater. If you see an illicit discharge, please report it to Douglas County Stormwater Utility at 509-886-3728.
If you have received a traffic infraction, you may be eligible for a deferral. By successfully completing a deferral, the Court will not report your ticket to the Department of Licensing. Review more about deferrals:
To request a deferral, you may appear at the court or send in a mail request form (PDF) and submit the fee of $150.
You must request the deferral at the clerk’s counter or by mail within 15 days of your violation date.
Instead of paying the face amount of your traffic infraction, you must pay a $150 administrative fee. The Court uses this fee to check your eligibility for deferral and to monitor your compliance with deferral terms.
The Court will end your deferral. You will be responsible for the face amount of your traffic infraction and the court will report to the Department of Licensing that you committed your traffic violation. In addition, a $52 penalty will be assessed against you, a case FTA ordered, and notification sent to the Department of Licensing to begin processing your driver’s license for suspension.
The Court will end your deferral and will report to the Department of Licensing that you committed your traffic infraction, and you will be sent a bill for the amount of fine indicated on your ticket.
The Court does not allow deferral for the following:
If you answer yes to any of these questions, you do not qualify to defer your infraction:
Yes. Review the Deferred Infraction Order Form (PDF).
A Special Motor Vehicle Permit is a permit to operate oversize/overweight vehicles on County roads. This could be for anything from the transportation of a manufactured home to the hauling of equipment.
If you are unsure whether or not a permit is required, contact Douglas County staff.
A pilot/escort vehicle and operator must comply with the requirements of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 468-30-100. Pilots/escort vehicles are required when:
You can apply online through the Permit Portal or in person at the Public Services Building located at 140 19th Street NW in East Wenatchee. Most permits can be issued same day if the applicant can provide the necessary information.
Loads exceeding dimensions 16 feet wide, 16 feet tall, 125 feet load length, or 200,000 pounds are considered "superloads" and require special consideration prior to permit issuance. Applications for loads over 200,000 pounds must be submitted at least 30 days before the proposed date of movement. Applications for loads over 16 feet wide, 16 feet tall, 125 feet long must be submitted at least 7 calendar days before the proposed movement date.
Tax amounts for the current year are generally available the first week of February. Statements are typically mailed on or around February 28. These dates are subject to change without notice. Irrigation, Personal Property, and Storm Water Utility statements are mailed with Real Property Tax statements. If you do not receive your statement(s) by March 15, please contact our office to verify your mailing address.
If property was purchased after tax statements were mailed, the Treasurer’s office will mail a "courtesy statement" to the new owner at the address provided at the time the sale was recorded.
Special assessment statement dates are set by the specific district and vary. Please contact our office for further information.
Under Washington law, it is the taxpayer’s responsibility to ensure their taxes are paid. Failure to receive a statement does not excuse interest or penalties on delinquent tax or assessment amounts.
We recommend completing our Online Mailing Address Correction Request Form. You can also mail your address correction to our office at P.O. Box 609, fax it to us at 509-745-8412, or you may email the Treasurer’s Office. Provide your:
We will change your address upon receipt of your request.
Please be sure you have all parcel numbers and both the old and new addresses when making your request. Your address request will update both the Treasurer’s and Assessor’s Office records for your parcel(s).
Yes. Paperless statements are available for Real Property Taxes, Irrigation, Storm Water Utility, and Personal Property. Locate your Authorization Code on the upper-right of your statement and visit the eNoticesOnline website to create your account.
Contact the Treasurer’s Office and a statement can be faxed, emailed, or mailed to you.
Taxes become due in full once certified by the Treasurer and may be collected immediately. For your convenience, Washington State law allows you to make two half payments. First half property taxes are due by April 30th. Second half taxes are due by October 31st. If either of these due dates falls on a weekend or a holiday, payments are due the next business day. For more information see the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 1.12.070.
Any tax or assessment under $50 is due in full on April 30th. Prior year delinquent taxes and current year property taxes paid after October 31st must pay the full year’s balance with interest and penalty. Current year taxes may be paid prior to paying any delinquent amounts for a prior year or year(s), per RCW 84.56.060 unless the County has begun foreclosure proceedings on the parcel(s).
If paying on the due date, you may make your payment in person, by mail or through our website. An official U.S. Postal Service postmark determines the payment date for all mailed payments. If first half tax is not paid by due date, total tax becomes delinquent subject to 12% interest. In addition, an 11% penalty will be assessed as follows: 3% for taxes delinquent June 1 and 8% for taxes delinquent December 1. We do not mail delinquent or ’reminder’ statements.
Active duty military personnel may be exempt from payment of interest and penalties on delinquent taxes on their personal residence, if they are participating as part of one of the branches of the military involved in the conflict and assigned to a duty station outside the territorial boundaries of the United States. See RCW 84.56.20(7) for more information.
Irrigation, Stormwater Utility, and Land Improvement District (LID) and Road Improvement District (RID) assessments are collected on the following schedule:
If these due dates fall on a weekend or a holiday, payments are due the next business day. If paying on the due date, you may make your payment in person, by mail (view the Mailed Payments FAQ), or online through our Tax Sifter Parcel Search. LID and RID payments cannot be made online at this time. An official U.S. Postal Service postmark determines the payment date for all mailed payments. Delinquent interest and penalties vary per assessment. Please see your statement for more information.
The Treasurer’s Office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, including the lunch hour.
Our office is located in the Douglas County Courthouse Annex at 213 S Rainier Avenue, Waterville, WA 98858. For online directions, visit the Treasurer’s Office page in our directory.
We do not have an office in East Wenatchee.
Please make your check or money order payable to Douglas County Treasurer and mail your payments and/or correspondence to:Douglas County TreasurerP.O. Box 609Waterville, WA 98858-0609
No. If you wish to make your payment in-person, you will need to visit the Treasurer’s Office during regular business hours; view the Treasurer’s Office page in our directory for directions or to view our regular business hours. We can accept cash or check payments only in the office.
We can accept check, money order, or cash payments in person at our office. For mailed payments, please do not send cash; use check or money order only for your safety. Please make your check or money order payable to Douglas County Treasurer. We cannot accept credit or debit card payments in our office. For electronic payment options, including credit or debit card and electronic debit from a checking or savings account, view the Making Electronic Payments FAQ.
You may pay for multiple statements with one check, pay each statement with a single check per statement, or pay a single statement with multiple checks, so long as the total due on your statements is the same as the total of your payment items. We have no preference; please use whatever method is most convenient for you.
You cannot mix credit or debit card payments with other payment types.
No. We cannot accept these types of payment items and they will be returned to you for correct payment.
We understand that you want to ensure that your payment is processed as you presented it. However, staples, tape, paper clips, and glue can cause your payment to become jammed in our payment processing equipment, which can delay processing of your payment up to two weeks. To prevent unnecessary delays in the processing of your payment, simply inserting your statement(s) and check(s) into the envelope is adequate. We kindly ask that you do not fold your payment, or fold it as minimally as possible.
Yes. Taxes can be paid by credit or debit card by calling Point and Pay at 866-898-2916. Credit card, debit card, and electronic check payments can be made online through our Tax Sifter Parcel Search. Land Improvement District (LID) and Road Improvement District (RID) payments can be made over the phone, but are not available online. A fee, set by the vendor, is charged for processing credit card, debit card, and electronic check payments.
Payments are not posted in "real time"; please allow 2 to 3 business days for credit and card payments and 5 to 7 business days for electronic check payments to post to your parcel(s).
No. At this time, we do not have an option to pay directly from your checking or savings account. We do accept "bill pay" checks from participating banks. Please contact your bank for more information on internet/online bill pay.
No. We are not able to accept partial payments or make payment arrangements. However, if you owe for more than one tax year, you may pay one year at a time. Please contact our office for the correct amount due, including interest and penalties, to avoid return of your payment.
As noted previously, we cannot accept partial payments. Your payment is considered a partial payment if the interest and penalties are not included. We cannot bill you for just the outstanding interest amount. If your payment is late it must include interest and penalty at the time of payment or it will be returned to you.
No. Taxes can only be collected in advance to satisfy state requirements regarding sales of personal property. Unless your transaction fits within that requirement, we cannot collect taxes for advance years or allow "credit" balances on your parcel(s). If you overpay your taxes, the Treasurer’s Office will issue you a refund within three weeks of your payment.
All statements are mailed directly to the property owner. Douglas County does not track mortgage lender information and does not know whether to anticipate payments from a lender or the homeowner. If you believe your mortgage lender will be paying your property taxes and assessments, please contact your lender to verify which taxes and assessments they will be paying before filing away your statements each year.
Under Washington law, it is the taxpayer’s responsibility to ensure taxes are paid on their property.
If both you and your lender submitted payments during first half, the payments will be posted to your first and second half taxes, and your account will be "paid in full" for the year. If additional payments are received, they will be returned to the paying party. If you wish to have your payment refunded and the mortgage company payment applied, you will need to arrange this with your lender. Although you have the option to pay half amounts on April 30th and October 31st, taxes are due once certified and we cannot refund a payment once it has been posted.
Yes. If you are 61 years old or older or disabled, own the house you live in, and have an annual income of $40,000 or less, you may be entitled to a property tax reduction: view the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 84.36.385 and RCW 84.36.381 for legal citations. Please contact the Douglas County Assessor by calling 509-745-8521 for more information and forms required to claim the exemption.
Please contact the Douglas County Assessor by calling 509-745-8521.
No. We suggest you retain the customer portions of your current year tax and assessment statements to use for income tax reporting requirements the following year. Please contact your accountant or income tax professional for deduction eligibility.
Yes. Property tax records are public records. We cannot make your records private or "hide" any of your tax or assessment information, even upon request.
Payments under protest must be in writing and comply with the provisions of the state law. These laws can be found in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 84.68.020 and the Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 458-18-215.
Real property foreclosure will start if any one tax is three full years delinquent, per Chapter 84.64 of the Revised Code of Washington (RCW).
Please visit our Tax Foreclosure Information page; generally, the list of potential tax foreclosure properties is available in October. A link to the most recent list will be posted on this page when available, and will be replaced by a list of the most recent sales results. A list of surplus funds from tax foreclosure properties are also available on this page.
Finally, you may also request this information by submitting a Public Records Request.
These properties revert to the County and become Tax Title Properties. A list of these parcels appears on the Tax Foreclosure Information page. If you are interested in purchasing one or more of these properties, please contact the Treasurer for more information.
Tax Title Properties, as noted previously, are properties that did not sell during a regularly-scheduled tax foreclosure auction held by the Treasurer. Douglas County Surplus Properties are those properties already owned by the County, not including the parcels of land and buildings used to conduct County business. If you are interested in purchasing Douglas County Surplus Property, please contact the Douglas County Board of Commissioners for more information at 509-745-8537.
Please visit our Real Estate Excise Tax Information page for more information on the process.
Noxious weeds are non-native plants that have been introduced accidentally or as ornamental in peoples’ gardens. Some are poisonous to humans and livestock and most grow rapidly and are extremely difficult to control. They can reduce crop yields, displace desirable plant species, destroy beneficial native habitat, damage recreational opportunities, clog waterways and diminish land values.
The State Noxious Weed Board, a group of citizen volunteers representing all parts of the state, annually adopts and publishes a list of weeds to be controlled or eradicated based on public comment and input from county weed boards.
You may call the Douglas County Extension office at 509-745-8531 to help you identify the weeds and offer control recommendations.
Call the Douglas County Commissioner’s Office at 509-745-8537 and discuss the issue with them.
Douglas County Transportation and Land Services is responsible for controlling weeds that grow along the County’s road right-of-ways. Contact Douglas County Transportation and Land Services at 509-884-7173 for questions or concerns regarding weeds on the right-of-ways or on County owned property.
It will depend on what noxious weeds you have, their stage of growth and other site-specific variables. Please contact Washington State University (WSU) Extension for more information on herbicides. Remember to always follow the label directions when applying herbicides.
Because just like a leaky roof or poor foundation, noxious weeds are a detriment to the value of the property and will take time and money to get under control.
Contact the local Washington Department of Agriculture or Washington State University (WSU) Douglas County Extension.
Generally you will find that this form of control will not work all summer because the plants will start to bloom lower than your mower blade. Mowing is one important method in stopping seed production, but should be used along with other control measures to stop the spread of noxious weeds.
For example, mowing is not entirely effective on Spotted knapweed or Leafy spurge, but a diligent 3 year mowing program on Canada thistle may achieve around 90% control if mowed at the early bud stage of growth (several times during the growing season) followed by a fall application of herbicides. This will increase the control efforts and help to cause the thistle to collapse.
This is an open invitation for noxious weeds to come into an area. If land is not managed correctly, then the most aggressive, non-native plants that are established nearby may take over an area, choking out native grasses and forbs. The knapweed infestation in Montana is contributing to the death of over 200 elk per year and several cattle ranches have been abandoned due to the overwhelming invasion of Leafy spurge and knapweed.
It is important to keep in mind that biological control is a slow process and will not eradicate noxious weeds. However, they do have their place in an integrated pest management plan. When used in conjunction with mechanical, cultural and/or chemical control methods, bio control can improve the overall efforts.
Most herbicides are considered low or moderately toxic. All chemicals have a half-life in the environment. Half-life is defined as the amount of time it takes the biodegrade one half of the original amount. herbicides are broken down by sunlight and microbial activity in the soil.